The Tourism & Leisure Studies Research Network is grateful for the foundational contributions, ongoing support, and continued service of the following world-class scholars and practitioners

Tourism and Leisure Studies Research Network Advisory Board

Dr. Chris Cooper, Professor in the School of Events, Tourism and Hospitality Management Leeds Beckett University, UK; Co-Founder, Progress in Tourism, Hospitality and Recreation Research and the International Journal of Tourism Research and is now the Co-Editor of Current Issues in Tourism.

Dr. Vanessa GB Gowreesunkar, Associate Professor in Tourism, Anant National University, India; Former Head of Department, Tourism and Hospitality Studies, University of Africa Toru-Orua, Nigeria; & Editorial Advisory Board Member/Liaison Officer - International Journal of Tourism Cities, Emerald Insight.

Dr. Maria Gravari-Barbas, Professor and UNESCO Chair in Culture, Tourism & Development; Convener UNESCO UNITWIN; and Vice President for International Relations, Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, France.

Dr. Christina Cameron, Professor, School of Architecture and Canada Research Chairperson in Built Heritage, Université de Montréal; former DG, Parks Canada; former Chair, UNESCO’s World Heritage Committee, Paris

Dr. Sergio Moreno Gil, Professor and Director of Institutional Relations of the UNESCO Chair of Tourism Planning and Sustainable Development; and Director of Marketing and Destination Development at TIDES Tourism and Sustainable Development Institute at the Universidad Las Palmas de Gran Cranaria.

Dr. Michael Hall, Professor, Department of Management, Marketing and Entrepreneurship, University of Canterbury, New Zealand; Visiting Professor, Linnaeus University, Sweden; Guest Professor, Lund University, Sweden; and Docent, University of Oulu, Finland.

Dr. Shem Wambugu Maingi, School of Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure studies, Kenyatta University, Kenya; IUCN WCPA Tourism and Protected Areas Specialist Group; ICOMOS International Cultural Tourism Committee; and Member, Ecotourism Kenya.

Dr. Anna Farmaki, Tourism management, Department of Hotel and Tourism Management at the Cyprus University of Technology; Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (UK); and a management committee member in European Union COST Actions.

Dr. Ko Koens, Professor, New Urban Tourism, Inholland University of Applied Sciences, Rotterdam; also an Associate Professor of Hotel and Facility at Breda University of Applied Sciences (BUas), Netherlands; and affiliated with the Leisure, Tourism and Hospitality Centre of Expertise and with the University of Johannesburg.

Dr. R. Bhavani Rao, Director, AMMACHI Labs, UNESCO Chair, Director, Center for Women’s Empowerment and Gender Equality, Amrita University/ Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Amritapuri, Kerala.

Dr. Sawsan Haider Khreis, Head of Department of Tourism and Travel, Yarmouk University; IRBID – JORDAN; Development Advisor, Tabuk University, Saudi Arabia; and General Secretary of Arab Tourism Experts Union.

Dr. Pravin S. Rana, Tourism Management, Faculty of Arts, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, UP, India

Dr. Asli D.A. Tasci, Interim Chair, Department of Tourism, Events and Attractions; Associate Professor Tourism and Hospitality Marketing, UCF Rosen College of Hospitality Management, University of Central Florida, Orlando, US.

Dr. Carolin Lusby, Associate Professor, Chaplin School of Hospitality & Tourism Management at Florida International University; and formerly World Leisure Centre of Excellence at Wageningen University in the Netherlands.

Dr. Angelo Presenza, Assistant Professor in Organization, University of Molise (Italy). He has a PhD in Business Management and is a visiting professor in several International Universities such as University of Calgary, Dalhousie University, Huelva University, Universitad de Gran Canarie.

Dr. Yoel Mansfeld, Dept. of Geography & Environmental Studies, Professor in Centre for Tourism Research, University of Haifa, Israel.

Dr Huong Yong, Researcher, Nature and Culture Heritage Research Center of Nanjing University; and Vice President, Suzhou Wudu National Association of Historical and Cultural Cities, China.

Fergus T. Maclaren, President, ICOMOS International Cultural Tourism Committee, Paris/Chelsea, Canada.

Chairperson of the Advisory Board - Amareswar Galla

UNESCO Chair on Inclusive Museums and Sustainable Heritage Development; Professor of Inclusive Cultural Leadership and Director, International Centre for Inclusive Cultural Leadership (ICICL), Anant National University, Ahmedabad, India; Executive Director, International Institute for the Inclusive Museum, Australia/India /USA; and Member, UNITWIN-UNESCO Network – Tourism, Culture and Development, Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne.(

Apply to Join

The Tourism & Leisure Studies Research Network recognizes the contribution of many in the evolution of the Research Network. The principal role of the Advisory Board has been, and is, to drive the overall intellectual direction of the Research Network. The Research Network also seeks to work in the service of our Advisory Board. Board members are invited to attend the annual conference and are encouraged to contribute articles, participate in the peer-review process of the Journal of Tourism and Leisure Studies, and submit manuscripts to the Tourism & Leisure Studies Book Imprint.

Interested in joining? Learn how to apply.