Research Network Chair

Dr. David Humphreys, Professor of Environmental Policy at The Open University, United Kingdom, is proud to work teaching and researching sustainability and environmental policy at what he regards as the world’s leader in distance university teaching. He began his career specializing in international forest policy on which he was written two books, Forest Politics: The Evolution of International Cooperation (1996) and Logjam: Deforestation and the Crisis of Global Environmental Governance (2006). His interests in heritage include the natural and built environments, with a particular interest in the reconstruction of Beirut. He has also published on climate change politics, geoengineering, the democratic regulation of transnational corporations, and the emerging jurisprudence of rights of nature. With Spencer Stober he edited the Common Ground volume Transitions to Sustainability: Theoretical Debates for a Changing Planet (2014). His academic awards include the International Studies Association’s Harold and Margaret Sprout Award (2008) and an Honorary Fellowship from the Institute of Chartered Foresters (2015).

On Sustainability Research Network Advisory Board

  • Jonathan Barton, Pontificial Catholic University in Santiago de Chile, Chile
  • Jessica Budds, University of East Anglia, United Kingdom
  • Michael Cameron, University of Waikato, New Zealand
  • Peter Cole, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada
  • John Dryzek, University of Canberra, Australia
  • Carolyn Fonyo Boggess, Oregon State University, United States of America
  • Maria Fragkou, University of Chile, Chile
  • Amareswar Galla, International Institute for the Inclusive Museum, India
  • Suzanne Grant, University of Waikato, Hamilton, New Zealand
  • Steve Hamnett, University of South Australia, Australia
  • Björn Hassler, Södertörn University, Sweden
  • Charles Hopkins, York University, Canada
  • David Humphreys, The Open University, UK
  • Shino Koda, Tottori University of Environmental Studies, Japan
  • Stewart Lockie, James Cook University, Australia
  • Claudia Loggia, University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
  • Helena Norberg-Hodge, The International Society for Ecology and Culture (ISEC), United Kingdom
  • Pat O'Riley, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada
  • Philipp Pattberg, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Spencer S. Stober, Alvernia University, United States of America
  • Lyuba Zarsky, Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey, United States of America

The On Sustainability Research Network is grateful for the foundational contributions, ongoing support, and continued service of our Advisory Board.